Women of Influence Awards for 2014

09 October 2014

Distinguished Professor Margaret Brimble has been named the winner of the Innovation & Science category at the Women of Influence Awards for 2014. The award recognises women who are driving innovation through work in science and academia and are improving inclusion in their field.

“I am delighted that researchers doing experimental physical science were included in these very prestigious awards for women,” Distinguished Professor Brimble says. “The finalist and award winners in all categories were stellar. Thanks to Westpac and Mastercard for sponsoring the science and innovation category.”

Distinguished Professor Brimble was the first New Zealander to receive the L’Oreal-Unesco Award for Women in Science and was recognised at the Awards for her outstanding career in medicinal chemistry, including the Rutherford Medal from the Royal Society of New Zealand and her position as Chair of the RSNZ Rutherford Foundation. She is a principal investigator for the Maurice Wilkins Centre for Molecular Discovery, principal investigator for the Centre for Brain Research and associate investigator in the MacDiarmid Institute. She was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2004 and a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2012 for services to science.

She is a strong advocate for women in science and regularly speaks to young women and girls from a wide range of organisations to encourage them to take up a career in science.

Senior Lecturer Michelle Dickinson (Chemical & Materials) and Honours student Jade Leung were also nominated in the awards. Dr Dickinson was recognised for her work in making science accessible to a wide range of audiences and age groups and for setting up her own non-profit organisation, Nanogirl, to inspire children and young people to show an interest in science and engineering.

Jade is in her final year of a BE(Hons) in Environmental Engineering and leads the P3 youth charity which works to fight extreme poverty and has a network of more than 100 volunteers. She was a founding member of NCEA Campus, a not-for-profit, youth-for-youth organisation promoting equality of opportunity in the New Zealand education system.