The Department of Exercise Sciences celebrates its 21st

02 October 2015

The Department of Exercise Sciences celebrated its 21st Birthday on Wednesday night with an evening that brought alumni, current students, past and present staff together to acknowledge and thank the people who have contributed to the rich history and bright future of the department.

Former student and Kaiarahi for the Faculty of Science, Michael Steedman, began proceedings with a Mihi and spoke fondly about his time studying sport and exercise sciences as one of the first intake of students in 1994.  

Head of Department, Associate-Professor Greg Anson acknowledged the former heads of department, managers and guests who retain unique historical connections with the department including Emeritus Professor Ray Meyer - former Dean of Engineering at the University of Auckland who along with former Vice-Chancellor Sir Colin Maiden, “engineered the idea of a department of sport science at the University of Auckland.”

Professor Bob Marshall, founding Head of Department reflected on the history of the department and spoke about how the curriculum was initially “put together” and how they recruited the original staff, including Professor Winston Byblow and Associate Professor Heather Smith. Guests enjoyed the opportunity to accompany Heather on a tour of the department’s research laboratories in building 731 on the Tāmaki Campus.

The celebrations marked 21 great years for the department at Tāmaki, highlighted this year with international accreditation of the clinical exercise physiology programme by the (US) Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) – the first programme in the world outside the US to receive this accreditation. In addition, the approval to rename the department as  “Department of Exercise Sciences” from 1st January 2016 is another reason to celebrate.

See The Department of Exercise Sciences for more information about the department’s achievements.