Faculty of Science - Leading creativity and innovation in the sciences


The media

Are you looking for an academic expert to comment or advise you on a story? Are you interested in the latest research conducted at the Faculty of Science or would you like to know what other media write about us? Contact our media adviser or academic staff listed below, browse through our media releases and articles, or attend one of our public events.

Media enquiries


Our Media Relations Advisor can help you find a subject expert and provide you with information about Faculty of Science staff, students and current research projects. This service is offered to national and international print, broadcast and online journalists and editors.

Anne Beston

Phone: +64 9 923 3258
Mobile
: +64 021 970 089
Email
: a.beston@auckland.ac.nz

Discover our faculty


Contact our researchers


This Media Directory is designed to be a quick reference guide to some of the expertise at the Faculty of Science. It lists academic staff willing to be contacted by the media, ordered by department.

The list is by no means exhaustive. If you are seeking comment on an area not listed, please contact our Faculty of Science Communications and Media Relations Adviser, Anne Beston.

Assoc Prof Jacqueline Beggs

School of Biological Sciences
Research areas: Ecology; Conservation Biology; Insects; Invertebrates; Birds
Phone: +64 9 923 6823
Email: j.beggs@auckland.ac.nz


 

Prof Rod Dunbar

School of Biological Sciences / Maurice Wilkins Centre
Research areas: Proteomics; Biomedicine; Human cellular immunology; Cancer therapy development
Phone: +64 9 923 5765
Email: r.dunbar@auckland.ac.nz


 

Prof Gillian Lewis

School of Biological Sciences
Research areas: Water quality; Freshwater; Environmental Microbiology; Applied Microbiology
Phone: +64 9 923 7396
Email: gd.lewis@auckland.ac.nz


 

Assoc Prof Mary Sewell

School of Biological Sciences
Research areas: Marine biology; Antarctic marine biology; Ocean acidification; Plastic pollution; echinoderms
Phone: +64 9 923 3758
Email: m.sewell@auckland.ac.nz



 

Prof Gill Dobbie

Department of Computer Science
Research areas: Databases; Big data; Knowledge discovery
Email: g.dobbie@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

 

Dist Prof Margaret Brimble

School of Chemical Sciences
Research areas: Organic and Medicinal Chemistry; Medicinal compounds made from bioactive substances isolated from plants, microbes or marine organisms
Phone: +64 9 923 8259
Email: m.brimble@auckland.ac.nz


 

Assoc Prof Jadranka Travas-Sejdic

School of Chemical Sciences
Research area: Biosensors; Micro- and nano-fabrication; Conducting polymers and nanoparticles; Electrically switchable surfaces
Phone: +64 9 923 8272
Email: j.travas-sejdic@auckland.ac.nz


 

Associate Professor Paul Kench

School of Environment
Research areas: Coastal processes and change; Coral reefs; Coastal management
Phone: +64 9 923 8440
Emailp.kench@auckland.ac.nz


 

Prof Glenn McGregor

School of Environment
Research areas: Weather and climate extremes and impacts; Climate change and climate variability; Climate and human health; Climate and rivers; Climate and society
Phone: +64 9 923 5284
Emailg.mcgregor@auckland.ac.nz


 

Associate Professor Phil Shane

School of Environment
Research areas: Volcanology; Magmatic processes; Quaternary Geology
Phone: +64 9 923 7083
Emailpa.shane@auckland.ac.nz


 

Prof John Montgomery

Institute of Marine Science
Research areas: Sensory systems of fish; Fish neurophysiology
Email: j.montgomery@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

 

Prof Marston Conder

Department of Mathematics
Research areas: Symmetry; Pure mathematics; Computational mathematics; Experimental mathematics; Networks (combinatorial graphs)
Phone: +64 9 923 8879
Email: m.conder@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

Prof Stuart Bradley

Department of Physics
Research areas: Acoustics; Visualising sound; Modeling wind flow
Phone: 64 9 923 8886
Email: s.bradley@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

Prof Suzanne Purdy

School of Psychology
Research areas: Speech Science; Speech perception in children; Auditory processing disorders and reading delay; Hearing aids
Phone: +64 9 923 2073
Emailsc.purdy@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

 

Prof Russell Gray

School of Psychology
Research areas: Linguistic evolution; Animal cognition (New Caledonian Crows), Philosophy of biology; Behavioural phylogenetics
Phone: +64 9 923 8525
Emailrd.gray@auckland.ac.nz


 

Dr Annette Henderson

School of Psychology
Research areas: Language and socio-cognitive development in early childhood (0-4 years); Cooperation, prosociality and morality in early childhood; Vocabulary development; Social learning
Phone: +64 9 923 2521
Emaila.henderson@auckland.ac.nz


 

Dr Nicholas Gant

Department of Sport and Exercise Science
Research areas: Brain’s role in controlling metabolism and fatigue during exercise; Brain foods
Phone: +64 9 923 6607
Email: n.gant@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

Prof Chris Triggs

Department of Statistics
Research areas: Biosecurity; Food; Nutrition; Biometrics; Multivariate analysis
Phone: +64 9 923 8856
Email: cm.triggs@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Rochelle Constantine

School of Biological Sciences
Research areas: Whales; Marine mammal biology; Conservation biology
Phone: +64 9 923 5093
Email: r.constantine@auckland.ac.nz


 

Dr Matthew Goddard

School of Biological Sciences
Research areas: Experimental ecology and evolution; Evolution of sex; Microbial ecology; Wine Science
Mobile: 021 2420397
Email: m.goddard@auckland.ac.nz


 

Assoc Prof Mike Pearson

School of Biological Sciences
Research areas: Plant virology; Fungal virology; Plant pathology
Phone: +64 9 923 8371
Email: m.pearson@auckland.ac.nz


 

Prof Michael Walker

School of Biological Sciences
Research areas: Magnetic sense; Animal navigation; Circalunar and circatidal rhythm; Māori and Pacific Island students in Science
Phone: +64 9 923 7054
Email: m.walker@auckland.ac.nz


 

Prof Andre Nies

Department of Computer Science
Research areas: Computability theory; Algebra and automatic structures
Phone: +64 9 923 6645
Email: a.nies@auckland.ac.nz


 

Prof Jim Metson

School of Chemical Sciences
Research areas: Surface and Materials Science; Thermal effects of aluminium oxides; Electronic and magnetic properties of metal oxides
Phone: +64 9 923 3877
Email: j.metson@auckland.ac.nz



Assoc Prof Cather Simpson

School of Chemical Sciences / Department of Physics
Research areas: Ultrafast lasers; Manufacturing on a microscopic scale; Laser spectroscopy
Phone: +64 9 923 3525
Email: c.simpson@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

Dr Jan Lindsay

School of Environment
Research areas: Auckland volcanic field; Volcanic hazard and volcanic risk; New Zealand volcanoes
Phone: +64 9 923 8678
Emailj.lindsay@auckland.ac.nz


 

Dr Julie Rowland

School of Environment
Research areas: Earthquakes; Tectonics; Geothermal; Minerals; Structural geology; Economic geology
Phone: +64 9 923 7412
Email: j.rowland@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

Dr Craig Radford

Institute of Marine Science
Research areas: Hearing and sensory functions in fish and crustaceans; Animal acoustic communication; Sound propagation in water
Phone: +64 9 923 3620
Emailc.radford@auckland.ac.nz


 

Prof James Sneyd

Department of Mathematics
Research areas: Applications of mathematics to medicine, physiology and biology; Mathematical modelling of calcium dynamics in heart cells, cells that control saliva secretion, and airway muscles
Email: j.sneyd@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

Dr David Krofcheck

Department of Physics
Research areas: Nuclear physics; Particle physics, Large Hadron Collider; Higgs boson
Phone: +64 9 923 8897
Email: d.krofcheck@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

Prof Richard Easther

Department of Physics
Research areas: Astrophysics; Origin of the universe; Astronomy; Particle Physics; Theoretical Physics; Cosmology
Phone: +64 9 923 1585
Emailr.easther@auckland.ac.nz


 

Assoc Prof Ian Lambie

School of Psychology
Research areas: Forensic psychology; Criminology; Arson; Youth offending; Clinical psychology; Child psychology; Sports psychology
Phone: +64 9 923 5012
Email: i.lambie@auckland.ac.nz

 


 

Assoc Prof Niki Harré

School of Psychology
Research areas: Community and social psychology; Sustainability; Environmental issues; Youth development; Activism; Psychological wellbeing and happiness
Phone: +64 9 923 8512
Emailn.harre@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

 

Assoc Prof Donna Rose Addis

School of Psychology
Research areas: Memory; Amnesia; Brain; Neuroimaging; MRI
Phone: +64 9 923 8552
Emaild.addis@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

 

Prof Winston Byblow

Department of Sport and Exercise Science
Research areas: Neuroscience; Stroke rehabilitation; Parkinson's disease; Movement disorders; Brain imaging, Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation
Phone: +64 9 923 6844
Email: w.byblow@auckland.ac.nz

 

 

Dr Stéphane Guindon

Department of Statistics
Research areas: Statistical computing; Statistical models; Algorithms; Computer programmes; Molecular evolution; Natural selection; Phylogenetics
Phone: +64 9 923 2755
Email: s.guindon@auckland.ac.nz
 

Top