Faculty of Science - Leading creativity and innovation in the sciences

The media

Are you looking for an academic expert to comment or advise you on a story? Are you interested in the latest research conducted at the Faculty of Science or would you like to know what other media write about us? Contact our media adviser or academic staff listed below and browse through our media releases and articles.

Media enquiries

Our Media Relations Adviser can help you find a subject expert and provide you with information about Faculty of Science staff, students and current research projects. This service is offered to national and international print, broadcast and online journalists and editors.

Anne Beston

Phone: +64 9 923 3258
: +64 021 970 089
: a.beston@auckland.ac.nz

Discover our faculty

  • Media releases

    Read today’s top news stories and media releases, and look back at past items.

Contact our researchers

This media directory is designed to be a quick reference guide for some of the expertise at the Faculty of Science. It lists academic staff willing to be contacted by the media, ordered by department.

The list is by no means exhaustive. If you are seeking comment on an area not listed, please contact our Faculty of Science Communications and Media Relations Adviser, Anne Beston.

School of Biological Sciences

Associate Professor Jacqueline Beggs

Research areas: ecology; conservation biology; insects; invertebrates; birds
Phone: +64 9 923 6823
Email: j.beggs@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Rod Dunbar

School of Biological Sciences / Maurice Wilkins Centre
Research areas: proteomics; biomedicine; human cellular immunology; cancer therapy development
Phone: +64 9 923 5765
Email: r.dunbar@auckland.ac.nz


Professor Gillian Lewis

Research areas: water quality; freshwater; environmental microbiology; applied microbiology
Phone: +64 9 923 7396
Email: gd.lewis@auckland.ac.nz


Associate Professor Mary Sewell

Research areas: marine biology; antarctic marine biology; ocean acidification; plastic pollution; echinoderms
Phone: +64 9 923 3758
Email: m.sewell@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Rochelle Constantine

Research areas: whales; marine mammal biology; conservation biology
Phone: +64 9 923 5093
Email: r.constantine@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Matthew Goddard

Research areas: experimental ecology and evolution; evolution of sex; microbial ecology; wine science
Mobile: 021 2420397
Email: m.goddard@auckland.ac.nz


Professor Mike Pearson

Research areas: plant virology; fungal virology; plant pathology
Phone: +64 9 923 8371
Email: m.pearson@auckland.ac.nz


Professor Michael Walker

Research areas: magnetic sense; animal navigation; circalunar and circatidal rhythm; Māori and Pacific students in Science
Phone: +64 9 923 7054
Email: m.walker@auckland.ac.nz


Department of Computer Science

Professor Gill Dobbie

Research areas: databases; big data; knowledge discovery
Email: g.dobbie@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Andre Nies

Research areas: computability theory; algebra and automatic structures
Phone: +64 9 923 6645
Email: a.nies@auckland.ac.nz


School of Chemical Sciences

Distinguished Professor Margaret Brimble

Research areas: organic and medicinal chemistry; medicinal compounds made from bioactive substances isolated from plants, microbes or marine organisms
Phone: +64 9 923 8259
Email: m.brimble@auckland.ac.nz


Associate Professor Cather Simpson

School of Chemical Sciences / Department of Physics
Research areas: ultrafast lasers; manufacturing on a microscopic scale; laser spectroscopy
Phone: +64 9 923 3525
Email: c.simpson@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Jim Metson

Research areas: surface and materials science; thermal effects of aluminium oxides; electronic and magnetic properties of metal oxides
Phone: +64 9 923 3877
Email: j.metson@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Jadranka Travas-Sejdic

Research area: biosensors; micro- and nano-fabrication; conducting polymers and nanoparticles; electrically switchable surfaces
Phone: +64 9 923 8272
Email: j.travas-sejdic@auckland.ac.nz


School of Environment

Professor Paul Kench

Research areas: coastal processes and change; coral reefs; coastal management
Phone: +64 9 923 8440


Professor Glenn McGregor

Research areas: weather and climate extremes and impacts; climate change and climate variability; climate and human health; climate and rivers; climate and society
Phone: +64 9 923 5284


Associate Professor Phil Shane

Research areas: volcanology; magmatic processes; quaternary geology
Phone: +64 9 923 7083

Dr Jan Lindsay

Research areas: Auckland volcanic field; volcanic hazard and volcanic risk; New Zealand volcanoes
Phone: +64 9 923 8678


Dr Julie Rowland

Research areas: earthquakes; tectonics; geothermal; minerals; structural geology; economic geology
Phone: +64 9 923 7412
Email: j.rowland@auckland.ac.nz


Department of Exercise Sciences

Dr Nicholas Gant

Research areas: brain’s role in controlling metabolism and fatigue during exercise; brain foods
Phone: +64 9 923 6607
Email: n.gant@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Winston Byblow

Research areas: neuroscience; stroke rehabilitation; Parkinson's disease; movement disorders; brain imaging, Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation
Phone: +64 9 923 6844
Email: w.byblow@auckland.ac.nz


Institute of Marine Science

Professor John Montgomery

Research areas: sensory systems of fish; fish neurophysiology
Email: j.montgomery@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Craig Radford

Research areas: hearing and sensory functions in fish and crustaceans; animal acoustic communication; sound propagation in water
Phone: +64 9 923 3620



Professor Marston Conder

Research areas: symmetry; pure mathematics; computational mathematics; experimental mathematics; networks (combinatorial graphs)
Phone: +64 9 923 8879
Email: m.conder@auckland.ac.nz

Professor James Sneyd

Research areas: applications of mathematics to medicine, physiology and biology; mathematical modelling of calcium dynamics in heart cells, cells that control saliva secretion, and airway muscles
Email: j.sneyd@auckland.ac.nz



Professor Stuart Bradley

Research areas: acoustics; visualising sound; Mmodeling wind flow
Phone: +64 9 923 8886
Email: s.bradley@auckland.ac.nz



Dr David Krofcheck

Research areas: nuclear physics; particle physics, Large Hadron Collider; Higgs boson
Phone: +64 9 923 8897
Email: d.krofcheck@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Richard Easther

Research areas: astrophysics; origin of the universe; astronomy; particle physics; theoretical physics; cosmology
Phone: +64 9 923 1585


School of Psychology

Professor Donna Rose Addis

Research areas: memory; amnesia; brain; neuroimaging; MRI
Phone: +64 9 923 8552


Associate Professor Niki Harré

Research areas: community and social psychology; sustainability; environmental issues; youth development; activism; psychological wellbeing and happiness
Phone: +64 9 923 8512



Associate Professor Ian Lambie

Research areas: forensic psychology; criminology; arson; youth offending; clinical psychology; child psychology; sports psychology
Phone: +64 9 923 5012
Email: i.lambie@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Russell Gray

Research areas: linguistic evolution; animal cognition (New Caledonian Crows), philosophy of biology; behavioural phylogenetics
Phone: +64 9 923 8525


Dr Annette Henderson

Research areas: language and socio-cognitive development in early childhood (0-4 years); cooperation, prosociality and morality in early childhood; vocabulary development; social learning
Phone: +64 9 923 2521



Professor Suzanne Purdy

Research areas: Speech Science; speech perception in children; auditory processing disorders and reading delay; hearing aids
Phone: +64 9 923 2073


Department of Statistics

Dr Stéphane Guindon

Research areas: statistical computing; statistical models; algorithms; computer programmes; molecular evolution; natural selection; phylogenetics
Phone: +64 9 923 2755
Email: s.guindon@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Chris Triggs

Research areas: biosecurity; food; nutrition; biometrics; multivariate analysis
Phone: +64 9 923 8856
Email: cm.triggs@auckland.ac.nz