Faculty of Science - Leading creativity and innovation in the sciences


Key contacts

Science Student Centre staff


Hana Mata’u is the Science Student Centre manager. Hana is available to advise on specific Science requirements and to discuss issues relating to degree completion. Hana will sign off requirements on behalf of the Dean of Science, where appropriate.

For general undergraduate course advice, please visit the Science Student Centre to speak with one of our Student Academic Advisers, we are happy to help with any enquiries.


Name

Role
Email Phone: + 64 9 373 7599 ext
Glenda Haines Student and Academic Services and Engagement Manager g.haines@auckland.ac.nz 83494
Hana Mata’u Student Centre Manager h.matau@auckland.ac.nz 87018
Jai Desikan  Academic Services Analyst j.desikan@auckland.ac.nz 89886
Sharon Chen Student Academic Adviser sharon.chen@auckland.ac.nz 89059
Erica Blake Student Academic Adviser       e.blake@auckland.ac.nz 85851
Jenny Xu Student Academic Adviser j.xu@auckland.ac.nz 89381
Tessa Holloway  Student Academic Adviser & School of Biological Sciences Resource Centre Coordinator (based in SBS) tl.holloway@auckland.ac.nz 87297
Chris Struthers Student Academic Adviser c.struthers@auckland.ac.nz 81176
Joel McGeorge Student Academic Adviser (Science Scholar, Young Scholar & Max programme) j.mcgeorge@auckland.ac.nz 87982
Sharon Televave Student Support Adviser (Māori & Pacific) s.televave@auckland.ac.nz 89905
Debbie Haefele Student Support Adviser (Equity & Domestic) d.haefele@auckland.ac.nz 83113
Deidre Doyle Student Support Adviser (International) d.doyle@auckland.ac.nz 87926
Erica Farrelly Student Support Adviser (International) e.farrelly@auckland.ac.nz 81399
Lauren Collins  Student Experience Adviser l.collins@auckland.ac.nz 86581
Julia Hohl Student Experience Adviser j.hohl@auckland.ac.nz 84240
Top

Student Resource Centre staff



Name

Role
Email Phone: + 64 9 373 7599 ext
Jaya Venugopalan  Resource Centre Coordinator j.venugopalan@auckland.ac.nz 85510
Will Moffatt Resource Centre Coordinator w.moffatt@auckland.ac.nz 85050
Top

Academic Advisers for undergraduate subjects and majors

Subject Stages Contact person Email Address Phone: + 64 9 373 7599 ext
Anthropological Science All stages Bruce Floyd ugadvice-anthrosci@auckland.ac.nz 85921
Biological Sciences Stage I Amanda Harper a.harper@auckland.ac.nz 87794
  Stage II & III & Graduate Diploma Libby Hitchings l.hitchings@auckland.ac.nz 88703
  Stage II & III & Graduate Diploma Julie McIntosh julie.mcintosh@auckland.ac.nz 81234
Biomedical Science all Stages Science Student Centre scifac@auckland.ac.nz 87020
Biotechnology Academic Adviser Kerry Loomes k.loomes@auckland.ac.nz 88372
Chemistry Stage I Malini Arewgoda c.arewgoda@auckland.ac.nz 87318
    Kaitlin Beare k.beare@auckland.ac.nz 88292
    David Salter d.salter@auckland.ac.nz 84957
  Stage II & III David Ware d.ware@auckland.ac.nz 88270
Medicinal Chemistry Enquiries regarding MEDCHEM major Science Student Centre scifac@auckland.ac.nz 87020
Food Science & Nutrition All stages for FOODSCI courses & FOSN major only Peter Swedlund p.swedlund@auckland.ac.nz 84296
Wine Science Undergraduate courses only All Undergraduate stages Neill Culley n.culley@auckland.ac.nz 87999
Computer Science Stage I Ann Cameron ann@cs.auckland.ac.nz 84947
  Stage II Damir Azhar damir.azhar@auckland.ac.nz 82391
  Stage III Robert Sheehan r.sheehan@auckland.ac.nz 88814
  Equivalencies Adviser Aniket Mahanti a.mahanti@auckland.ac.nz 88752
Information Systems Stage II and III INFOSYS courses Science Student Centre scifac@auckland.ac.nz 87020
Logic and Computation All enquiries Science Student Centre scifac@auckland.ac.nz 87020
Data Science Enquiries around Data Science major. Sebastian Link (Computer Science) s.link@auckland.ac.nz 88758
UG Advisers for Statistics See UG STATS See UG STATS
Earth Sciences (formerly Geology) All Stages Nick Richards n.richards@auckland.ac.nz 85286
Barry O'Connor b.oconnor@auckland.ac.nz 88638
Ecology Enquiries around Ecology major Science Student Centre scifac@auckland.ac.nz 87020
Environmental Science All Stages Sam Trowsdale s.trowsdale@auckland.ac.nz 88710
Geography All Stages Mel Wall m.wall@auckland.ac.nz 87949
Geophysics All Stages Ludmila Adam l.adam@auckland.ac.nz Email only
Exercise Sciences All Stages Kharmin Sukhia (ASC) k.sukhia@auckland.ac.nz 86887
Marine Science All Stages Neill Herbert  n.herbert@auckland.ac.nz 83604 (Leigh Office); 89586 (City Campus)
Mathematics, Applied Mathematics. Maths Education All Stages Padraic Bartlett ugadvice@math.auckland.ac.nz 82448
Tanya Evans ugadvice@math.auckland.ac.nz 88783
  Undergraduate International & Exchange Student Adviser Steve Taylor s.taylor@auckland.ac.nz 86622
Pharmacology All Stages Liam Anderson l.anderson@auckland.ac.nz 86037
Physics Stage I Mark Conway m.conway@auckland.ac.nz 88864
  Stage II  JJ Eldridge (until 1 January 2018) j.eldridge@auckland.ac.nz 85911
  Stage III Peter Wills p.wills@auckland.ac.nz 88889
Physiology All Stages Anuj Bhargava a.bhargava@auckland.ac.nz 86200
Psychology Undergraduate & Graduate Diploma Adviser Michelle Burstall m.burstall@auckland.ac.nz 88526
Statistics All Stages Christine Miller c.miller@auckland.ac.nz 84275
David Smith dp.smith@auckland.ac.nz 85390
Equivalencies Adviser Mike Forster m.forster@auckland.ac.nz 88759
Top

Advice for postgraduate students


Subject Responsibilities   Email Ext

Bioscience Enterprise (SBS)

PGDBE/MBE

Kerry Loomes

director@bioscienterprise.ac.nz

88372

Admin

Evgeniya Kruglova

e.kruglova@auckland.ac.nz

88014

Bioinformatics (SBS)

PGDipSci/MSc/Honours

Shaun Lott

s.lott@auckland.ac.nz

86160

Admin

Evgeniya Kruglova

e.kruglova@auckland.ac.nz

88014

Biological Sciences (SBS)

PGDipSci/MSc/Honours

Shaun Lott

s.lott@auckland.ac.nz

86160

Admin

Evgeniya Kruglova

e.kruglova@auckland.ac.nz

88014

PhD Academic

Philip Harris

p.harris@auckland.ac.nz

88366

PhD Admin

Patricia Rodriguez

p.rodriguez@auckland.ac.nz

83097

Biosecurity & Conservation (SBS)

PGDipSci/MSc

Margaret Stanley

mc.stanley@auckland.ac.nz

86819

Admin

Evgeniya Kruglova

e.kruglova@auckland.ac.nz

88014

School of Chemical Sciences (SCS)

PGDipSci/MSc/Honours

Viji Sarojini

v.sarojini@auckland.ac.nz

83387

PGDipSci/MSc/Honours

Tilo Soehnel

t.soehnel@auckland.ac.nz

89722

PhD

Bruno Fedrizzi

b.fedrizzi@auckland.ac.nz

88114

Admin for all Chemistry specialisations

Bebe Fu

b.fu@auckland.ac.nz

82480

Computer Science

PhD

Gerald Weber

g.weber@auckland.ac.nz

82285

PhD (deputy)

Matthew Egbert

m.egbert@auckland.ac.nz

87027

MSc

Patrice Delmas

p.delmas@auckland.ac.nz

83780

Honours

Jiamou Liu

jiamou.liu@auckland.ac.nz

89528

PGDipSci

Mano (Sathiamoorthy) Manoharen

mano@cs.auckland.ac.nz

86837

Data Management Science/Digital Security

Master of Professional Studies

Sebastian Link

s.link@auckland.ac.nz

88758

Master of Information Technology/PGCertIT

Ian Warren

i.warren@auckland.ac.nz

88784

Admin 

Charlotte Li-Preuss

c.li-preuss@auckland.ac.nz

84872

Logic and Computation

PGDipSci/MSc/Honours

Patrick Girard

p.girard@auckland.ac.nz

82752

PhD for all SEnv specialisations

 

Mark Dickson (Head of Postgraduate Research)

m.dickson@auckland.ac.nz

88329

Earth Sciences (Env)

PGDipSci/Honours/MSc

Melissa Bowen

m.bowen@auckland.ac.nz

89037

Environmental Management (Env)

PGDipSci/MSC

Ann Bartos

a.bartos@auckland.ac.nz

89679

Environmental Science (Env)

PGDipSci/MSC

Kevin Simon

k.simon@auckland.ac.nz

82679

Exercise Sciences/Clinical Exercise Physiology

PGDipSci/Hons/MSc

Elwyn Firth

e.firth@auckland.ac.nz

86856

Admin/MSc/PGDipSci/Honours/PhD (Exercise Sciences)
Admin/MSc/PGDSci (Clinical Exercise Physiology)

Kharmin Sukhia

k.sukhia@auckland.ac.nz

86887

Food Science (SCS)

Honours/PGDipSci/MSc

Siew-Young Quek

sy.quek@auckland.ac.nz

85852

Forensic Science (SCS)

PGDipForensic/MSc

Douglas Elliot

Douglas.Elliot@esr.cri.nz

85860

PGDipForensic/MSc

Gordon Miskelly

g.miskelly@auckland.ac.nz

88338

Geography (Env)

PGDipSci/Honours/MSc

Ward Friesen

w.friesen@auckland.ac.nz

88612

Geophysics (Env)

Honours/PGDSci/MSc

Jennifer Eccles

j.eccles@auckland.ac.nz

88092

Marine Science

Admin

Boyd Taylor

boyd.taylor@auckland.ac.nz

83602

PGDipSci/MSc/PhD

Alwyn Rees

ta.rees@auckland.ac.nz

83603

Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Mathematics Education

PGDipSci/Honours

Hinke Osinga 

h.m.osinga@auckland.ac.nz

85056

MSc

Igor Klep

igor.klep@auckland.ac.nz

84986

PhD

Rod Gover

r.gover@auckland.ac.nz

88792

Master of Professional Studies

Jean-Francois Maheux

j.maheux@auckland.ac.nz

88791

Admin

Stephanie Stone  

s.stone@auckland.ac.nz

81301

Optometry

PGDipSci/MSc (research)

Monica Acosta

m.acosta@auckland.ac.nz

86069

MSc (taught)

Nicola Anstice

n.anstice@auckland.ac.nz

82956

Admin 

Kerri Slade-Jones

k.slade-jones@auckland.ac.nz

83109

Pharmacology

PGDipSci/Honours/MSc

James Paxton

j.paxton@auckland.ac.nz

86413

Admin

Malcolm Tingle

m.tingle@auckland.ac.nz

84949

Physics

Admin 

Cheryl Yang

cheryl.yang@auckland.ac.nz

82040

PGDipSci/Honours

David Krofcheck

d.krofcheck@auckland.ac.nz

88897

MSc/PhD

Rainer Leonhardt

r.leonhardt@auckland.ac.nz

88835

Physiology 

PGDipSci/Honours/MSc

Kimberley Mellor

k.mellor@auckland.ac.nz

83028

Admin

Christine Headford

c.headford@auckland.ac.nz

86586

School of Psychology

Admin/MSc/PGDSci/Honours

Sheryl Robertson

s.robertson@auckland.ac.nz

86852

Clinical Psychology

Kerry Gibson

kl.gibson@auckland.ac.nz

88556

PhD

Karen Waldie

k.waldie@auckland.ac.nz

88521

Tāmaki Programmes Admin

Evgeniya Kruglova

e.kruglova@auckland.ac.nz 

88014

Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA)

Javier Virues-Ortega

j.virues-Ortega@auckland.ac.nz

88551

Speech Science (Psych)

PGDipSci/MSc/MSLTP

Suzanne Purdy

sc.purdy@auckland.ac.nz

82073

Admin

Kharmin Sukhia

k.sukhia@auckland.ac.nz

86887

Statistics

PGDipSci/Honours/MSc

Brendon Brewer

bj.brewer@auckland.ac.nz

82665

PGDipSci

Geoff Pritchard

g.pritchard@auckland.ac.nz

87400

Honours/MSc

Arden Miller

a.miller@auckland.ac.nz

85053

PhD

Rosemary Barraclough                                     

rk.barraclough@auckland.ac.nz

88308

Admin

Stephanie Stone

s.stone@auckland.ac.nz

81301

Admin

Min-Ah Lee

mina.lee@auckland.ac.nz

88743

Wine Science (SCS)

PGDipSci/MSc

Neill Culley

n.culley@auckland.ac.nz

 

PGDipSci/MSc

Paul Kilmartin

p.kilmartin@auckland.ac.nz

 

Top