Faculty of Science - Leading creativity and innovation in the sciences


Key contacts

Science Student Centre staff


Hana Mata’u is the Science Student Centre manager. Hana is available to advise on specific Science requirements and to discuss issues relating to degree completion. Hana will sign off requirements on behalf of the Dean of Science, where appropriate.

For general undergraduate course advice, please visit the Science Student Centre to speak with one of our Student Academic Advisers, we are happy to help with any enquiries.

Name Role Email Phone: + 64 9 373 7599 ext
Glenda Haines Student and Academic Services and Engagement Manager g.haines@auckland.ac.nz 83494
Hana Mata’u Student Centre Manager h.matau@auckland.ac.nz 87018
Tim Wade Academic Services Analyst t.wade@auckland.ac.nz  
Lena Nikiforova Student Academic Adviser e.nikiforova@auckland.ac.nz 87824
Erica Blake Student Academic Adviser       e.blake@auckland.ac.nz 85851
Will Moffatt Student Academic Adviser w.moffatt@auckland.ac.nz 85050
Joel McGeorge Student Academic Adviser (Science Scholars, Young Scholars & MAX programme) j.mcgeorge@auckland.ac.nz 87982
Sharon Chen Student Academic Adviser sharon.chen@auckland.ac.nz 89059
Tessa Holloway  Student Academic Adviser & School of Biological Sciences Resource Centre Coordinator (based in SBS) tl.holloway@auckland.ac.nz 87297
Merrion Baker Student Support Adviser (Equity & Domestic) m.baker@auckland.ac.nz 83113
Deidre Doyle Student Support Adviser (International) d.doyle@auckland.ac.nz 87926
Erica Farrelly Student Support Adviser (International) e.farrelly@auckland.ac.nz 81399
Sharon Televave Student Support Adviser (Māori & Pacific) s.televave@auckland.ac.nz 89905
Lauren Collins  Student Experience Adviser l.collins@auckland.ac.nz 86581
Julia Hohl Student Experience Adviser j.hohl@auckland.ac.nz 84240
Top

Student Resource Centre staff



Name

Role
Email Phone: + 64 9 373 7599 ext
Jaya Venugopalan  Resource Centre Coordinator j.venugopalan@auckland.ac.nz 85510
Top

Academic Advisers for undergraduate subjects and majors

Subject Stages Contact person Email Address Phone: + 64 9 373 7599 ext
Anthropological Science All stages Bruce Floyd ugadvice-anthrosci@auckland.ac.nz 85921
Biological Sciences Stage I Amanda Harper a.harper@auckland.ac.nz 87794
  Stage II & III & Graduate Diploma Dr Kathryn Jones ks.jones@auckland.ac.nz 88703
Biomedical Science All stages Science Student Centre scifac@auckland.ac.nz 87020
Biotechnology Academic Adviser Kerry Loomes k.loomes@auckland.ac.nz 88372
Chemistry Stage I Malini Arewgoda c.arewgoda@auckland.ac.nz 87318
    Kaitlin Beare k.beare@auckland.ac.nz 88292
    David Salter d.salter@auckland.ac.nz 84957
  Stage II & III David Ware d.ware@auckland.ac.nz 88270
Medicinal Chemistry Enquiries regarding MEDCHEM major Science Student Centre scifac@auckland.ac.nz 87020
Food Science & Nutrition All stages for FOODSCI courses & FOSN major only Peter Swedlund p.swedlund@auckland.ac.nz 84296
Wine Science Undergraduate courses only All Undergraduate stages Neill Culley n.culley@auckland.ac.nz 87999
Computer Science Stage I Ann Cameron ann@cs.auckland.ac.nz 84947
  Stage II Damir Azhar damir.azhar@auckland.ac.nz 82391
  Stage III Robert Sheehan r.sheehan@auckland.ac.nz 88814
  Equivalencies Adviser Aniket Mahanti a.mahanti@auckland.ac.nz 88752
Information Systems Stage II and III INFOSYS courses Science Student Centre scifac@auckland.ac.nz 87020
Logic and Computation   Jeremy Seligman (Arts) j.seligman@auckland.ac.nz 87992
Data Science Enquiries around Data Science major. Sebastian Link (Computer Science) s.link@auckland.ac.nz 88758
UG Advisers for Statistics See UG STATS See UG STATS
Earth Sciences (formerly Geology) All Stages Nick Richards n.richards@auckland.ac.nz 85286
Barry O'Connor b.oconnor@auckland.ac.nz 88638
Ecology Enquiries around Ecology major Science Student Centre scifac@auckland.ac.nz 87020
Environmental Science All Stages Sam Trowsdale s.trowsdale@auckland.ac.nz 88710
Geography All Stages Mel Wall m.wall@auckland.ac.nz 87949
Geophysics All Stages Ludmila Adam l.adam@auckland.ac.nz Email only
Exercise Sciences All Stages Kharmin Sukhia (ASC) k.sukhia@auckland.ac.nz 86887
Marine Science All Stages Neill Herbert  n.herbert@auckland.ac.nz 83604 (Leigh Office); 89586 (City Campus)
Mathematics, Applied Mathematics. Maths Education All Stages Padraic Bartlett ugadvice@math.auckland.ac.nz 82448
Nicolette Rattenbury ugadvice@math.auckland.ac.nz 83720
  Undergraduate International & Exchange Student Adviser Steve Taylor s.taylor@auckland.ac.nz 86622
Pharmacology All Stages Liam Anderson l.anderson@auckland.ac.nz 86037
Physics Stage I Mark Conway m.conway@auckland.ac.nz 88864
  Stage II  Maarten Hoogerland m.hoogerland@auckland.ac.nz 85911
  Stage III Peter Wills p.wills@auckland.ac.nz 88889
Physiology All stages Anuj Bhargava a.bhargava@auckland.ac.nz 86200
Psychology Undergraduate & Graduate Diploma Adviser Michelle Burstall m.burstall@auckland.ac.nz 88526
Statistics All stages Christine Miller c.miller@auckland.ac.nz 84275
David Smith dp.smith@auckland.ac.nz 85390
Equivalencies Adviser Mike Forster m.forster@auckland.ac.nz 88759
Top

Advice for postgraduate students


Subject

Responsibilities

 

Email

School of Biological Sciences

Biological Sciences

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Suzanne Reid

s.reid@auckland.ac.nz

 

PhD

Philip Harris

p.harris@auckland.ac.nz

    Gregory Holwell g.holwell@auckland.ac.nz
    Gavin Lear g.lear@auckland.ac.nz
Bioinformatics PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc Nicole Cloonan n.cloonan@auckland.ac.nz

Bioscience Enterprise 

PGDipBE/MBE

Mia Jüllig

m.jullig@auckland.ac.nz

Biosecurity & Conservation

PGDipSci

Bruce Burns

b.burns@auckland.ac.nz

Biotechnology 

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Augusto Barbosa

a.barbosa@auckland.ac.nz

 

Sub-doctoral Admin for all SBS

Evgeniya Kruglova

e.kruglova@auckland.ac.nz 

 

PhD Admin for all SBS

Patricia Rodriguez

p.rodriguez@auckland.ac.nz

School of Chemical Sciences

Chemistry 

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Tilo Söhnel

t.soehnel@auckland.ac.nz

 

PhD

Bruno Fedrizzi

b.fedrizzi@auckland.ac.nz

Food Science

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Siew-Young Quek

sy.quek@auckland.ac.nz

Forensic Science 

PGDipFS/MSc

Douglas Elliot

Douglas.Elliot@esr.cri.nz

 

PGDipFS/MSc

Gordon Miskelly

g.miskelly@auckland.ac.nz

Wine Science 

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Neill Culley

n.culley@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin for all SCS

Linda Fotherby

l.fotherby@auckland.ac.nz

Department of Computer Science

Computer Science

PhD

Gerald Weber

g.weber@auckland.ac.nz

 

PhD (deputy)

Matthew Egbert

m.egbert@auckland.ac.nz

 

MSc

Patrice Delmas

p.delmas@auckland.ac.nz

 

BSc(Hons)

Jiamou Liu

jiamou.liu@auckland.ac.nz

 

PGDipSci

Mano (Sathiamoorthy) Manoharen 

mano@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Data Science, Digital Security

MProfStuds

Sebastian Link

s.link@auckland.ac.nz

Information Technology

PGCertInfoTech/MInfoTech

Yu-cheng Tu

yu-cheng.tu@auckland.ac.nz

 

PGCertInfoTech/MInfoTech

Andrew Meads

andrew.meads@auckland.ac.nz

Logic and Computation

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Jeremy Seligman (Arts)

j.seligman@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin (except DATA-MProfStuds)

Debbie Haefele

d.haefele@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin for DATA-MProfStuds

Sarah Evill

sarah.evill@auckland.ac.nz

School of Environment

Environmental Management

PGDipSci/MSc

Karen Fisher

k.fisher@auckland.ac.nz

Environmental Science 

PGDipSci/MSc

Kevin Simon

k.simon@auckland.ac.nz

Earth Sciences

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Jennifer Eccles

j.eccles@auckland.ac.nz

Engineering Geology MSC Martin Brook m.brook@auckland.ac.nz

Geography

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)//MSc

Ward Friesen

w.friesen@auckland.ac.nz

Geophysics

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)//MSc

Jennifer Eccles

j.eccles@auckland.ac.nz

 

PhD for all SEnv specialisations

Michael Rowe

michael.rowe@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin for all School of Environment

Chris Struthers

c.struthers@auckland.ac.nz

Marine Science

 

PGDipSci/MSc/PhD

Alwyn Rees

ta.rees@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin 

Boyd Taylor

boyd.taylor@auckland.ac.nz

Department of Mathematics

Mathematics/Applied Mathematics

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)

Hinke Osinga

h.m.osinga@auckland.ac.nz

 

MSc

Hinke Osinga

h.m.osinga@auckland.ac.nz

 

PhD

Rod Gover

r.gover@auckland.ac.nz

Mathematics Education

MProfStuds

Igor' Kontorovich

i.kontorovich@auckland.ac.nz

 

MProfStuds

Tanya Evans

t.evans@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin for all Mathematics

Min-Ah Lee

mina.lee@auckland.ac.nz

Optometry

 

PGDipSci/MSc - research

Monica Acosta

m.acosta@auckland.ac.nz

 

MSc - taught

Nicola Anstice

n.anstice@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin 

Anahita Namjou

a.namjou@auckland.ac.nz

Pharmacology

 

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Malcolm Tingle

m.tingle@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin 

Christine Headford

c.headford@auckland.ac.nz

Department of Physics

 

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)

David Krofcheck

d.krofcheck@auckland.ac.nz

 

MSc/PhD

David Krofcheck

d.krofcheck@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin 

Jeanette Anderson

j.anderson@auckland.ac.nz

Physiology

 

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Julie Lim

j.lim@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin 

Christine Headford

c.headford@auckland.ac.nz

School of Psychology

Psychology (incl Clinical)

PhD - general

Karen Waldie

k.waldie@auckland.ac.nz

 

PhD - clinical

Kerry Gibson

kl.gibson@auckland.ac.nz

 

Clinical admin (incl DCP)

Sheryl Robertson 

s.robertson@auckland.ac.nz

Admin General enquiries Nadia Kennington n.kennington@auckland.ac.nz

Speech Science 

PGDipSci/MSc

Anna Miles

a.miles@auckland.ac.nz

  MSLTPrac Clare McCann c.mccann@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin for PGDipSci/MSc/MSLTPrac

Kharmin Sukhia

k.sukhia@auckland.ac.nz

Department of Exercise Sciences

Exercise Sciences

PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Heather Smith

h.smith@auckland.ac.nz

Clinical Exercise Physiology

PGDipSci/MSc

Stacey Reading

s.reading@auckland.ac.nz

 

Admin for all specialisations

Kharmin Sukhia

k.sukhia@auckland.ac.nz

Statistics

All other students PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Geoff Pritchard

g.pritchard@auckland.ac.nz

All new students from China  PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc

Yong Wang

yong.wang@auckland.ac.nz

All returning students PGDipSci/BSc(Hons)/MSc Andre Balemi a.balemi@auckland.ac.nz
  PhD Rosemary Barraclough rk.barraclough@auckland.ac.nz
  Admin Stephanie Stone s.stone@auckland.auckland.ac.nz
Top